Show All Answers
Yes. The Federal tax file date has been extended from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020. The State of Delaware has extended their date from April 30, 2020 to July 15, 2020 as well. Additional information can be found at https://revenuefiles.delaware.gov/2020/TIM2020-01_COVID-19_filing_extension.pdf
Please view the Library Tax Site document by following the link. Libraries that no longer have appointments will be noted.
We do not have a specific date of arrival. The IRS usually starts shipping federal forms to us in January. We put them out as soon as they arrive. Due to changes in tax law, the forms are sometimes further delayed. If you are in need of forms in a hurry you can call the IRS and have them mailed to your home or download them from the IRS' website irs.gov. This year the 1040A and 1040EZ forms have been eliminated. All individual tax payers will file the 1040 form. Additional schedules may be required.
Libraries receive tax instructions for Residents and Non-Residents from the Delaware Division of Revenue. Quantities are limited. We do not receive any paper forms. The Delaware Division of Revenue prefers you file taxes online through their website. This is free of charge. To obtain paper forms, call the Delaware Division of Revenue at 302-577-8200, email them at firstname.lastname@example.org, or visit their website at https://revenue.delaware.gov . When printing in the library, normal printing charges apply ($0.15 per page black & white)
Yes. You can go to the Federal and State tax form pages and print out most tax forms. When printing in the library, normal printing charges apply ($0.15 per page black & white)
No. You can go to the individual state's site and file electronically or download forms. The library will be able to help you make contact with tax collecting agencies in other states.
No. We do not provide tax advice. Please visit the IRS or Delaware Division of Revenue web sites for assistance. Alternatively, you can call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 or the Delaware Division of Revenue at 302-577-8200.
Yes. You can file online using web-based services. Neither New Castle County nor the libraries are responsible for any problems that arise. Patrons using library computers to do their taxes are still bound by standard rules governing computer usage (i.e. sessions are still one hour each, three hours total per day. Printing is still $0.15 per page, etc.). When using web-based services, some charges may apply for commercial concerns.