County Council


The County Council is the legislative branch of New Castle County government. The council body includes 13 council members elected from each of 12 districts and the council president, who is elected at-large. The County Council studies issues that affect the operation of the government and the citizens it represents. Council writes and passes laws and resolutions that improve the operation and protect the health and welfare of the citizens of New Castle County. Council members serve staggered four-year terms.

Kenneth R. Woods, District 1George Smiley, District 7
Dee Durham, District 2John Cartier, District 8
Janet Kilpatrick, District 3Timothy Sheldon, District 9
Penrose Hollins, District 4Jea P. Street, District 10
Lisa Diller, District 5David Tackett, District 11
David Carter, District 6Bill Bell, District 12


  • In accordance with Governor Carney’s recently issued Proclamation, coupled with the Governor’s Declaration of a State of Emergency, New Castle County Council is holding this meeting as a  ZOOM  telephone and video conference, utilizing Webinar.  The link to join the meeting via computer, smart device, or smart phone is:

    You may also call into the meeting (audio) using the following call in numbers:  1-312-626-6799 or +1-646-558-8656 or +1-346-248-7799 or +1-669-900-9128 or +1-253-215-8782 or +1-301-715-8592 Then enter the Webinar ID: 377 322 142.   If you do not have a good connection with one, please try the others. Additional information regarding phone functionality during the meeting is available at: 

Council & Committee Meetings

Council Meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month in Council Chambers. All committee meetings are held in the eighth floor conference room unless otherwise noted. Subcommittees meet whenever necessary.

View Current Schedule

Committee and Subcommittee Chairs

Agendas, Minutes & Audio Files

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. Please contact Nellie Hill, Clerk of Council, at 302-395-8388 for a copy of a committee meeting’s audio file or any updated information.

View All Agendas and Minutes and Audio